Carrot Squares with Cashew Cream Frosting

How do you make your carrot cake?
There are many different approaches to creating a delicious carrot cake. Some say it’s all in the cream cheese frosting, others like adding raisins or pineapple to their cake batter.
After looking through some of my older cookbooks, a lot of the recipes revealed adding lots of refined sugar, white flours, shortening and/or vegetable oils to make the cakes more moist and flavourable.
I recently discovered adding pineapple to carrot cake and I think it’s a genius idea. What I don’t enjoy is the texture of raisins in a carrot cake. Raisins, in my opinion, don’t belong in cakes.
Since I indulged on the weekend with deep fried Latin American cuisine (so worth it though). I figured I might as well make something healthier to indulge throughout the week, and need to give myself a little break.
I am not going to lie, I’m going to continue to grab a sugary sweet, once in a while, but if I can assemble a dessert using a vegan method I’d prefer to go with that option. I am trying to be more mindful of what I eat (really I am) because the holidays are fast approaching and I know that means cookie exchanges and more pumpkin desserts!!! Yikes!!!
So here is my recipe for Carrot Squares with Cashew Cream Frosting (I opted for squares because you can eat more of this dessert this way, and trust me you will be).

20131022-213254.jpg
This recipe is slightly adapted from This Rawsome Vegan Life

To make the cashew cream frosting:
Ingredients:

-1 cup raw cashews
-1/4 cup of water
-3 tablespoons of maple syrup
-1 tsp vanilla powder
-juice of 1/2 lemon
-1/3 cup coconut oil
blend all ingredients in your Vitamix blender or food processor until smooth. Put in a bowl and set aside.

To make the cake:
Ingredients:

-2 1/2 cup shredded carrots
– 1 cup raw walnuts
-12 dates
-14 dried pineapple chunks
-1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut
-1 tablespoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

Shred the carrots and remove the excess water from them by squeezing the shredded carrots in a cheese cloth or clean tea towel. Place carrots in a bowl and set aside.
Then throw all the remaining ingredients in your food processor and pulse until the mixture sticks together.
Now add in the shredded carrots and pulse a bit more.

Assembly:
Line a square shaped pan with parchment paper.
Press the cake mix into a square shaped pan.
Then spread on the frosting. Garnish with whatever you like (I chose crushed pistachios).
Put it in the freezer until the layer of frosting is hard.

20131022-213841.jpg
When ready to serve take out and let thaw for 10 minutes and sprinkle with cinnamon (optional)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Carrot Squares with Cashew Cream Frosting

Leave a Reply

