Homemade Dog Treats

So at times, I can be your equivalent to a crazy cat lady, but instead of cats, I got two dogs.
It was Edna’s birthday over the weekend, and of course, I needed to do something to celebrate her bday! So I made her some dog treats. I know, I know… It sounds a little cray, cray, but look how cute they are, how could I resist!

20131105-211018.jpg

20131105-211117.jpg

20131105-211158.jpg
My other dog Luna has an allergy to pretty much everything, so I need to be very careful what I give her and this treat sounded tolerable for her. Sure enough it was. Luna felt fine after consuming 5 or 6 of these wheat-free treats.

20131105-211546.jpg
I slightly adapted this recipe from Life with Lulu’s blog

Ingredients:
One boiled and mashed sweet potato
2 tablespoons of finely chopped parsley
1 egg
1/2 cup ground flax seeds
1/2 cup of rice flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 F.
In a large bowl mix the flax seeds, cinnamon, parsley, sweet potato and egg and mix well. Then add your rice flour and mix well with your hands, add another two tablespoons if you find the dough a little too sticky.

20131105-212628.jpg
Then on a floured, clean surface use a rolling pin and roll out until 1/4 inch thick.

20131105-212730.jpg
I had some bone shaped cookie cutters or you can use a pizza cutter to cut even squares.
Place all the cut outs on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.
Remember to let these cool completely prior to giving them to Fido.
I’m sure your dog is going to love these.

20131105-212824.jpg

Leave a Reply

