Fresh Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

While in Santa Cruz we stopped to grab a bite to eat at The Picnic Basket where we enjoyed some delicious sandwiches. After devouring the sandwiches we had to try the ice cream they had which was from The Penny Ice Creamery. They make small batches of ice cream from scratch using local and in season ingredients only. I tried their fresh mint dark chocolate ice cream. It was the best ice cream I had ever had. Everyday thereafter I wanted more of it. So when I finally came home I had to somehow replicate the recipe.
Finally, after searching the net, I found a recipe that provided me with a similar taste. I apologize for the out of focused photo, but it was had to put the spoon down.

20131110-145401.jpg
I adapted this recipe from David Lebovitz blog
Has anyone else tried ice cream made by The Penny Ice Creamery? If so, which was you’re favourite flavour?

Leave a Reply

