Herbs – Freeze them!!!

20140102-213346.jpgPerhaps I shouldn’t be admitting this, but it never occurred to me that I could freeze herbs. I went over to my mom’s for Christmas, and as I was helping her with dinner, I noticed in her freezer a ton of herbs frozen in separate Tupperware containers. When I took out the dill it was still bright green and had the same great taste!
Why didn’t anyone else tell me this sooner?!
I thought to myself, how many times have I purchased herbs, only to throw them out because they went bad in the fridge. Or how many times was I making a dish, and of course, I don’t have the herbs suggested in the recipe. Or most common scenario, I was too lazy to wash, dry and chop the herbs.
This tip will save you time and money.

Follow these simple steps to freeze and preserve your herbs.

Step 1
Wash your herbs and let dry completely

Step 2
Chop your herbs

Step 3
Place a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet and spread your chopped herbs all over. Place the cookie sheet into the freezer for 10 minutes (this will help herbs stay separated and not freeze into one big chunk)

Step 4
Take out the cookie sheet from the freezer and place your herbs into Tupperware containers or ziplock bags.

Voila!

20140102-213459.jpg

3 thoughts on “Herbs – Freeze them!!!

  1. I plant my own herbs out on the balcony every spring, and in autumn I ALWAYS forget freezing them… Then I end up with withered plants by winter instead of having a freezer full of good herbs. Maybe I’ll think of it this year!

    • What a great idea to plant your own herbs! Yes, you will have to try to freeze your own herbs before autumn, this way you can enjoy them all year round!

Leave a Reply

